2015 New Quilt Bloggers Blog Hop

Hello everyone, and welcome to Twin Mom Quilts!  My name is Erin, and I’m glad you came to check me out.  Let me tell you a bit about myself! This is my family: IMG_1824 I’m currently a stay at home mom to my 2.5 year old boys.  They were lucky enough to be born on Christmas day in 2012.  Before I was their mom, I was a night shift nurse who worked in the Medical Cardiac ICU at Harborview in Seattle.  I fully believe being a critical care nurse prepared me well for being a mom to twins.  For about 10 years, I’ve been obsessed with knitting and spinning.  I have a yarn stash thaIMG_0569t rivals a yarn store, started a podcast about knitting, own about 10 sheep fleeces and at one point owned three spinning wheels.  I have been interested in quilting since college, but decided that having one expensive hobby was enough.   After my sons were born, I decided that I needed to learn how to sew garments so my family could do themed Halloween costumes.  I found a sewing machine store near me that offered a 4-week course for beginning sewers.  Included in the course was quilted place mats, and that was the end of my resistance! I bet you’re wondering how our costumes turned out the first year?  We were the Wizard of Oz!  I followed it up last year with two sheep and some shepherds!  Nate certainly didn’t like his ears! In the Fall of 2013, my husband was given the opportunity to move to Cork, Ireland through his company.  After some discussion and soIMG_1564ul searching, we made the decision to move.  We’ve been here in Cork since April of 2014, and it’s been quite the adjustment.  There certainly is a decrease in fabric availability, and finding quilting groups was difficult in the beginning.  It wasn’t until we took a trip to the Dingle peninsula and I visited the Sewing Shed that I found out about the Irish Patchwork Society.  I joined the local branch in September–the Southern Branch.  I’ve since volunteered to be on the executive committee where I’m the Editorial Representative/Public Relations Officer.  I created a website for them, and I’ve also been in charge of running the Block of the Month Program since February.

Now that I’ve introduced myself, I bet you’re interested in seeing some of my quilty work.  Here’s a sampler:

My first quilt was a Hashtag Quilt designed by Camille Roskelley

erinfirst

I’ve also made Piece of Cake 3, also by Camille Roskelley.  Both of these quilts are from Camille’s Craftsy Class, Precut Piecing Made Simple.  I used Halloween fabric for this quilt.

Halloween Quilt, Piece of Cake pattern

My more recent projects include this quilt:

IMG_8597

I made this quilt in the summer of 2014 for the Southern Branch of the Irish Patchwork Society summer challenge.  We were to bring in two fat quarters of fabric, and they were cut into pieces for us.  I ended up getting the tumbler shape, and I created this pattern.  I call it Tumbling Stars.  The fabric is from the Violet Craft Line, Waterfront Park–inspired by Portland, Oregon.  My family lives near there, so every time I use this quilt, I think of my family.  I ended up winning the challenge!

My last quilt finish was this Hungry Caterpillar quilt I created from triangles I cut from my Sidekick Ruler:

IMG_4847

I made this quilt for a friend back in the States whose wife is due to have a baby any moment!  I also was able to use a long arm sewing machine for the first time to quilt this.

The quilt I’m most proud of making so far is the Night Sky quilt by Jaybird Quilts.  I’m really proud of my points on this, and the free motion quilting I did.

IMG_5347

A Blogging Tip:

Have a bit of a schedule.  It’s easier to make time for it if you know you have a schedule and are prepared to post.

A Quilting Tip:

Be fearless.  It’s just fabric!  Don’t hold back on what you want to make!  I made a goal this year to work on quilts that are more than just rectangles or squares.  The Night Sky was the first quilt on my list to do this year, followed by the Aviatrix Medaillion.

IMG_5335

What quilt have you been too intimidated to try?

Many thanks to the hosts of the 2015 New Quilt Bloggers,  Yvonne from Quilting Jetgirl, Cheryl from Meadowmist Designs, Terri from Childlike Fascination, and my host, Stephanie from Late Night Quilter.

I’m looking forward to hearing from you!

This entry was posted in 2015 New Quilt Bloggers, Get to Know Me, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to 2015 New Quilt Bloggers Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Hop, Skip and a Jump! | Chopping Block Quilts

  2. Carrie says:

    I love the center medallion for your Aviatrix quilt! Piecing a lonestar quilt and sewing curves are the next intimidating projects I hope tackle.

    And YAY! A fellow expat in the group! I can totally empathise with the lack of quilting stores. The few I have found here are just fabric stores. They don’t sell quilting accessories (thread, rotary cutters, patterns). A cultural adjustment for sure!

    Like

  3. Eleanor says:

    Hello, from the other quilter in Ireland! Though I’m used to the quilt shops here being smaller and less of a choice, it must be such a change for you!

    Love your Tumbling Stars; great different use to the shape. Beautiful fabric too.

    Too intimidated to try? I’d love to do the Passacaglia quilt, but so much hand sewing!

    Like

  4. Nice to get to know you a little better Erin.

    I bet all that nursing helped to prepare you for the boys! Maybe I should suggest a career change for my husband…

    I love your Night Sky. I wanted to make one this year, but am in the middle of Gravity, for some reason three Northern Lights (that’s a bit of a long story), and putting the binding on my Day Break. It might have to wait. Also, I’d like to give some of the patterns that have been floating around in my head a go, but I really would like one of these eventually. Maybe I’ll go with a small one. Yeah, a little Jaybird obsessed over here, but I enjoy making quilts that are challenging.

    I’m not entirely sure if there’s been a quilt I was too intimidated to make. Sometimes I can see things that I’d like to make, but they’re too much of a time investment. I’ve probably been holding back on making my own quilts though.

    Thanks for sharing a little of your life with us.

    Like

  5. Cindy says:

    Nice intro! I like your aviatrix, it looks fantastic.

    Like

  6. Heather J says:

    Bravo for leading an adventurous life! I always hoped my husband would be posted overseas, but that didn’t happen. I hope you can make it to Birmingham to their show as I was lucky enough to go a couple of years ago. Love your colour choices and your design for your challenge quilt.

    Like

    • eksrn2002 says:

      Thanks! I’m hoping to make it to Birmingham at some point, but my husband’s birthday is around the same time, and I feel like it may be unfair to ask for some time off when he should get it!

      Like

  7. Adrian Kelly says:

    Hi Erin! I love that you are breaking away from squares and rectangles. I am doing that myself! My Husband is looking for a way to move us to Europe but we work for a family business so I don’t see that happening! Can’t wait to see more products from Ireland!

    Like

    • eksrn2002 says:

      I’m hoping to make a road trip to some of the quilt stores here this summer. I’ll post some details from them. Some have quite the view of the countryside!

      Like

  8. Wendy says:

    Hello and nice to meet you! You’ve got some gorgeous quilts there and I’m intrigued by the last photo – that looksl ike the start of a fab quilt

    Like

  9. I don’t know if I am too intimidated to try a quilt, but I do know there are techniques that I haven’t worked on yet and purposely set out to learn Y Seams recently. Diving in to try something new is definitely worth it! I love the costumes you have made for your family and how they were the jumping off point for your quilting hobby. 🙂

    Like

  10. Tish says:

    You did an amazing job on the Halloween costumes! I can con my husband into a lot of things, but I’m not sure I could get him in a costume…but he might go for the cowardly lion. Your quilts are beautiful and the FMQ on the Night Sky Quilt looks great!!

    Like

    • eksrn2002 says:

      I think once the boys have opinions on their costumes, my husband will be off the hook. It’s fun to dress up. We even won a costume contest at his work with the Wizard of Oz set!

      Like

  11. Happy to meet you Erin!
    I own A book by Camille Roskelley and I have made one quilt from it and working on another. I love her designs and her instructions!! Your quilts are beautiful! I am much too intimidated by circles/curves but will one day try it out!
    Deb

    Like

    • eksrn2002 says:

      I have a Drunkards Path template I purchased before moving here. I think that will be on next year’s skills to tackle list. I have “A Quilter’s Mixology” that I should pull out and make some projects out of.

      Like

  12. Jinger says:

    Hi Erin, I already follow you on Bloglovin’ since we’re in the same hive. Very nice job on your intro! I have twin step-grandchildren, a boy and girl who just turned 13. Their parents are both physicians, I don’t know how on earth they did it when the kids were young. Now they’re running like crazy on the weekends with all the sports activities. My husband and I did a B&B tour of Ireland13 years ago and we just loved it. We hope to get back again in the future.

    Like

    • eksrn2002 says:

      Both physicians?! Yikes! I can’t imagine how my husband and I would have done it if we hadn’t been able to have me at home full-time. Ireland is a beautiful country!

      Like

  13. Rebecca says:

    I don’t think anywhere in the world has as many quilt shops as the States! Enjoy your time overseas. We lived overseas for three years and it was great. We missed home but we made wonderful friends and living in another country was a great experience for the kids.

    Like

    • eksrn2002 says:

      If we didn’t have the technological advances that we do today where I can Facetime with family every day, I don’t think I would have agreed to move here. The boys enjoy it too!

      Like

  14. Helen says:

    Hi Erin , my twins are also christmas babies ! Makes chridtmas even more special . One Halloween I made them , not us, matching bear outfits . I love your hashtag quilt . Very appropriate with the whoosh in of ig

    Like

    • eksrn2002 says:

      How old are your twins? I’m worried how they’ll react when they’re older. Not only do they need to share their birthdays with each other, but with Christmas. I figure we’ll do half birthdays if it becomes an issue.

      Like

  15. RuthB says:

    Hi Erin, I had to laugh when I read your editorial position – just taken that up for the mid-western branch too! I have yet to try reverse aplique – think that’s my next quilt challenge. Love your night sky!

    Like

    • eksrn2002 says:

      The editorial position is pretty fun–I’m trying to brainstorm ideas for the Summer articles now!

      Like

    • helen says:

      um, we ours are born on just a few days before Christmas. We always had a separate birthday party. A party between them, not two parties, separate to christmas I mean. We always got them separate birthday and Christmas presents, two occasions and two people. The problem where a couple of aunts who bought combined christmas and birthday presents, I mean one present for both occasions and between them. And a terrible present at that. We turned it into a private family joke

      Like

  16. Sandra says:

    Wonderful post Erin! I think it’s kismet (hope you get the double-entendre of that) that you ended up in Ireland with a name like Erin! I have a Jaybird Quilts quilt on my bucket list; yours is just gorgeous. Cute twins!

    Like

    • eksrn2002 says:

      Thank you so much! My middle name is very Irish as well. I apparently had some family in Northern Ireland at some point on my mother’s side. I have yet to go there since we’ve moved here to investigate the family ties.

      Like

  17. Hi Erin, what a brave decision to move to Ireland! My family & I moved from one end of Australia to the other which was a huge move. We dream of one day making a bigger move overseas. Such a wonderful experience with long lasting memories. I am starting my own Aviatrix Medallon quilt next month so am looking forward to watching your progress! Thanks for sharing your beautiful family and lovely quilts.

    Like

  18. That Hungry Caterpillar quilt is adorable! I can’t wait to see your Aviatrix done, you are doing an amazing work! Thanks for sharing a little bit of yourself. 🙂

    Like

  19. Margo says:

    Hi Erin..nice job on the intro. blog. Love your little video and thanks for sharing your adventure with us. You boys are so adorable. I haven’t done much quilting and I always wanted to do y-seam connection but not yet attempt to do so. I’ll put it on my list to do this year. Thanks.

    Like

  20. Jayne says:

    Hello Erin in Ireland!! That’s a pretty big change from Seattle! Love how your sew everything, from costumes to quilts! What a gorgeous family you have! I’m freaked out about a Lonestar star…not ready for that yet!

    Like

  21. Erin, I just wanted to say I love your storytelling. The blog looks great and the photos of you and your family make me smile.

    Like

  22. Night Sky is one of my WIP. I can’t wait to get all the pieces cut and start sewing. Thanks for sharing so we can get to know you. This blog hop has been fun.

    Like

  23. Joanne says:

    You’ve done a great job moving into shapes beyond squares and rectangles! Your quilts are beautiful. I’m very impressed by the Halloween costumes too 🙂 You’ve got me beat there!

    Like

  24. Lisa says:

    Hi Erin: It’s nice to meet you. You have some fabulous quilts there. I like how you show your quilting progression.

    Like

  25. Pingback: ~Week 2 Giveaway Winners~ | Quilting Jetgirl

  26. Hi Erin, the Aviatrix Medallion quilt is such a great pattern. I look forward to seeing your progress!

    Like

  27. Hi Erin, it’s so nice to virtually meet you! I was a part of the blog hop last year and it was so invaluable to me. We seem to have a lot in common – me being first and foremost a knitter with a killer stash, but I only dabbled in spinning. I usually just gave my wool to my aunt to spin for me. I used to live in Seattle as well (Issaquah & Snoqualmie to be exact) and my son was even born there (at Swedish) but we relocated to Florida 2 years ago. I miss the mountains but living 2 miles from Magic Kingdom and Walt Disney World, we just have different mountains (splash mountain, thunder mountain, space mountain…). I did a tour in Ireland many, many, years ago and briefly visited Cork, but have always loved Ireland. Looking forward to seeing more from you and how your Aviatrix Medallion quilt progresses.

    Like

  28. Hi Erin, I accidentally pasted a comment that was for you on Chopping Blocks Quilts website. Here I thought my system of cutting and pasting from a draft email was a good one, so I could keep track of my comments. Apparently not! Anyway, here is what I meant to post in response to your blog hop post:
    Your Night Sky quilt is so beautiful, and I am in awe of you taking on the Aviatrix Medallion quilt and can’t wait to see it finished. I still need to improve my sewing on blocks that are made out of rectangles and squares but have dabbled in triangles just a bit. I am also joining Meadow Mist Designs’ Midnight Mystery Quilt-along, so I imagine I will have a chance to improve my skills with triangles. I’m registered for Jeni Baker’s Mastering the Half-Square Triangle workshop at QuiltCon in February which I hope will increase my confidence and skill with triangles. The quilt I am feeling too intimated to try is the Beach Balls pattern that I blogged about in my Sunday Stash #2 post.

    Like

  29. Sarah says:

    Hi Erin! I really enjoyed your blog post and learning more about you. Your quilts are great and I especially like the Waterfront Park one. I like the challenge behind it. I think the quilt that I am most intimidated to make would have to be the Farmers Wife quilt. It just seems so time intensive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

