Modern Quilters Ireland Summer Swap

Earlier this summer, I received an email from the Modern Quilters Ireland leaders about participating in a Summer Swap.  I’ve only been a member for a year, and this was my first chance to participate.

After receiving my partner, I decided to make Noodlehead’s Poolside Tote pattern.

IMG_5622

The pattern doesn’t call for any sort of patchwork, but considering this is a quilting group, I decided to add some patchwork to the pocket.

I downloaded Piece By Number’s Circle of Geese paper pieced pattern and used our scanner/copier/printer to shrink it down 50% so I could end up with a finished 6″ block.

IMG_5626

IMG_5635

I love my rainbows, so I created what I like to call a color wheeled Circle of Geese.

Using the measurements provided, I added the background fabric to make the pocket panel.

IMG_5636

Preview of the finished bag:

IMG_5637

Today I finished the bag!  I’m really pleased with how it turned out!  I’m going to have a hard time giving it to my partner!

IMG_5648

This entry was posted in Modern Quilters Ireland and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Modern Quilters Ireland Summer Swap

  1. Helen says:

    Wow erin
    Can I be your partner ?

    Like

  2. That is a great bag! I’d be reluctant to part with it as well. Nicely done, and love the miniature circle of geese pocket. It’s adorable.

    Like

  3. I laughed out loud when I read, “color wheeled circle of geese.” When I think of the word “wheeled” I think of being “wheeled around” as in “We wheeled around town” That’s what your partner is going to do with this Poolside Tote– she’s going to “wheel around” with a fabulous tote. You can’t help but look at it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

