More Christmas Sewing

In order to have my Christmas sewing done in time, I’ve been working on it bit by bit over the summer.  I did some pillowcases for my boys and brother.  (You can see my brother’s here.)

IF YOU’RE MY MOTHER, STOP READING NOW!

I’m working on my Mom’s Christmas gift now.  I was inspired by Sewvivor Season 3, specifically the bag challenge.  Amy from Sew in Love Quilting made an amazing Weekender Bag by Amy Butler.  I KNEW this project would be perfect for my mom.  I also used the Moda Bake Shop tutorial that Amy linked as well.

After summoning up the courage, I loaded up my iron with water and got to steaming my squares into submission.  After steaming, you sew them together at the fold lines.  There’s a lot of back stitching involved!

IMG_5720

After sewing two panels of 18 folded squares, I sorted my charm squares into two color groups based on the dominant colors.  There’s a red pile, and a green/blue pile.  I used the blue/green squares inside the folded units.  To keep these charm squares in line, you top stitch them down.  I found that using a zipper foot helped A LOT at this stage, due to bulk.  I’m using a charm pack of Riley Blake’s La Vie Boheme line.

IMG_5721

During the boys’ last naptime, I started stitching the cathedral windows open.  I seriously amazed myself at how amazing this looked.  I’m in love already!  During that one naptime, I managed to get the main windows complete on one panel.  I still have the edges to go and the second panel.  My main tip for this part of the project is to go S-L-O-W!

IMG_5740

I’m already hoping to make one of these bags for me in the new year!

This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

