Christmas Sewing

Whew, it’s been a crazy few months!  It’s the last day of my 36th trip around the sun, and I’ve decided to make the resolution to blog more.  Lord knows I’ve been working on enough things to show you!

I’ll catch you all up with all of the gifts I made for Christmas.

I decided to design a quilt for Nathaniel using the Inverted Star block I downloaded from Craftsy.

IMG_6167

I found this fun farm fabric at the Spring Knitting and Stitching Show in London last year.  I swear this quilt was a comedy of errors throughout making it.  First, I didn’t save enough solid squares when I was cutting to make the number of blocks I wanted to for the quilt.  Then, when I thought I could make it work by making up my own blocks from the leftover HST I made, I didn’t do the math correct, and didn’t have enough to make the number of blocks I needed!

IMG_6217

So, I ended up making a 3 x 4 arrangement of the original blocks.  I had wanted a 4 x 4 arrangement.

IMG_6308

I did a simple swirly meander around the quilt to finish it off.  And had the crazy idea to make my son’s lambie a quilt out of the leftover HST blocks.

IMG_6309

After I finished with Nate’s quilt, I decided to follow a pattern for Malcolm’s quilt, as I was on a time table with my family’s Christmas visit quickly approaching.

I decided to make Thimble Blossom’s Fireworks Quilt.

IMG_6364

I used a fat quarter bundle of space fabric plus 5 more fat quarters from my stash.  Here’s the blocks as I made them:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I decided to finish it off with a simple large scale stipple.

IMG_6441

With about two weeks to go, I managed to finish the quilt!  Here I am showing it off at our local IPS meeting.   You can barely see all the other quilts I had to show off in the bag below.

IMG_1876

I made my Mom two things–

First an Amy Butler Weekender bag using cathedral windows I got inspired to make from watching Sew in Love Handmade compete in Sewvivor.

IMG_0195

and an on point mini made from a candy square pack from Kilbora Quilt Shop.

IMG_1877

Lastly, I made a Dr. Who stocking for my brother.  He likes the 4th Dr. best!

IMG_6478

We also celebrated the boys’ 3rd Birthday on Christmas.

IMG_0169

There’s a few more projects to catch you up on, but those will have to wait for another blog post.  I’ll just say I have a TON of quilt tops to quilt, but don’t have any wadding at the moment!

More soon!

This entry was posted in Irish Patchwork Society, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Sewing

  1. Helen says:

    Catching up on blog reading Erin . Some great makes there . I’m making my twin son a wedding quilt of hst . I should try some reverse blocks

    Like

Leave a Reply

