Home from London

I had a fantastic time (although way too short) in London!  I spent the majority of my time in the Kensington area of London, as that’s where most of the sites I wanted to see were.

My first stop after arriving was here at Shaukat Fabrics.  I heard about them through Cashmerette’s blog.  It’s a fabric store that has a ton of Liberty fabric that’s much less expensive than at Liberty.  There’s seriously about 8 or nine rooms that looked like this:

IMG_7050

They’re precut at 2 or 3 meters apiece, with the price located on the cut of fabric.  I couldn’t resist, and got two prints.  I’m hoping one will turn into the 1940’s Tea Dress by Sew Over It that I got at the Knitting and Stitching Show.

Meanwhile, I also purchased this fabric as well:

IMG_7106

Unknown fabric content, metallic and black fabric.  I’m hoping it will turn into a Rose Dress, however I’ve hit a snag.  The fabric REEKS.  And somehow I missed it while I was purchasing the fabric.  It smells like oil or something.  I’ve washed it a total of 3 times, line dried in the sun and the smell just stays.  I’m trying a patch test of Febreeze currently to see if that will help.

I did make a muslin of the dress while I was waiting for the fabric conundrum to be solved.  IMG_7204

I did have to do some adjusting of the pattern in the waist.  I can’t wait to see this done!

Last Saturday was our Branch IPS meeting.  There, two ladies finished the quilt I designed.  I wasn’t prepared to get so emotional when I saw the quilts!  It was an amazing feeling!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also gave a presentation on Cathedral Window Pincushions.

IMG_7190

If you’re interested in making them, you can find the slideshow presentation I gave and the directions to download at http://www.ipscork.com.

I’ve also been hard at work on designing the quilt I’m planning to submit to the National Exhibition.  Here’s the layout:

IMG_7185

I’m really excited about finishing this one, and may even finish the top today!  The latest national newsletter arrived yesterday and has several great articles on how to submit a quilt to the exhibition.

Now to plan on how to quilt the thing!

 

This entry was posted in Irish Patchwork Society, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home from London

  1. Helen says:

    I was in shaukat last week , I always enjoy rummaging through the offcuts for my hexies

    Like

  2. farmhousequilter says:

    I love this blog post! That fabric store would be an amazing place to visit for me. I love that cute dress you made. Your quilt will be stunning when finished! It’s all so inspiring.
    Deb

    Like

Leave a Reply

