Irish Patchwork Society National Exhibition

img_3637In mid-July, I had the opportunity to see my first quilt hanging in an exhibition.

I present to you “Love Wins”

IMG_3634

Here’s what’s written on the info card beside it:

“Last year was an exciting year for Marriage Equality.  It was passed not only here in Ireland but in my home country of the United States.  To celebrate this, I decided to create this version of a rainbow quilt. I was inspired by a Robert Kaufman Kona Cotton Skinny Strip set to create the rainbow diamonds.  I free motion quilted a branching spiral design because it remind me of my own wedding dress.  In order to draw attention to the diamonds, I did limited amounts of straight line quilting using monofilament thread.

This quilt fits into the theme of “Evolution” due to the change of popular opinion here in Ireland and in the Supreme Court of the United States to provide same sex couples all the legal rights of marriage.  Prior to having my children, I worked as a critical care nurse in an ICU in Seattle. I witnessed countless examples of family members that had to go through not only the stress of a seriously ill loved one due to an unexpected illness, but having to go through the added stress of not being able to make the medical decisions of a significant other just because they weren’t legally married.

While there is still a long way to go in the treatment of the LBGTQ community, I’m happy that if we continue to live in Ireland or the United States, my sons will be able to marry the person they love.”

I’m very pleased with how it came out.  I just finished submitting it to QuiltCon 2017!!

This entry was posted in Irish Patchwork Society and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

